Open DBDiff 0.8.6

Rating:        Based on 25 ratings
Reviewed:  25 reviews
Downloads: 59612
Change Set: 66212
Released: Sep 11, 2010
Updated: Sep 5, 2011 by jspraul
Dev status: Beta Help Icon

Recommended Download

Application Binaries
application, 1348K, uploaded Oct 13, 2010 - 48755 downloads

Other Available Downloads

Application Setup
application, 3327K, uploaded Sep 8, 2010 - 7967 downloads
Application Code
application, 4348K, uploaded Sep 8, 2010 - 2890 downloads

Release Notes

Don't miss a year's worth of updates ready for testing: Open DBDiff 0.9

Open DBDiff 0.8.6:
  • Fix support for 64-bit platforms
  • Included .pdb files for better error messages

This is a quick release to support 64-bit platforms. Thank you CodePlex user flipmind for the simplest solution to the problem: forcing 32-bit mode.

Apologies to all the potential users who have been giving up because the program would not start, and a big thank you to those who dug in deep enough to fix the problem by replacing various 32-bit dlls with their 64-bit versions to get things working!

Reviews for this release

     
"You're simply the best! Better than all the rest," - as someone once sang. This phrase entered my mind just now, as I prepared to write a review on behalf of OpenDBDiff. Indeed, one sure sign of how good this tool is, comes from the fact that there is so little out there to compare it with except its more expensive commercial cousins. Indeed there is such simplicity to the GUI of this tool that it is easy to miss exactly how powerful this tool actually is. It just works. You point it to 2 databases, click the Compare button, and a SQL update script will be produced for migrating your database A to database B. It is perfect. I was using it to check I was working on the right local DB instance that my colleague had updated. Without this tool I would be still opening and querying database tables and expanding rows. If you work with SQL Server at all, I strongly recommend you get tool!
by ChrisRandle on Mar 7 at 3:43 PM
     
Great app!! I have been looking for an alternate to RedGate and some other the other more pricey options. Outstanding work! One suggestion, add a report option so the schema comparison can be printed or reviewed in pdf format. Again awesome work!!!!
by fstemp on Feb 25 at 12:29 PM
     
Very easy to use!
by latinofac on Nov 12, 2013 at 4:27 PM
     
This just saved me hours of searching in 100+ sql tables. Thanks so much!
by ZuechB on Nov 12, 2013 at 3:43 PM
     
This is an excellent tool, thanks for that.
by Danny42 on Oct 30, 2013 at 8:28 PM
     
This tool gets the job done. Comparing databases and generating a difference script is no small task. Excellent work!
by datagod on Oct 9, 2013 at 3:28 PM
     
Needed a tool to compare table structure differences of a an MSSQL 2008 database used between two versions of a third-party software package. This app is brilliant. Simple, elegant. Just lovely. I was up and running in about 5 minutes, and had my answer in about 20 minutes of review.
by jeffmic on May 31, 2013 at 8:06 PM
     
This is a great tool! Worked flawlessly to help sync our dev databases.
by adrianonantua on Feb 15, 2013 at 4:45 PM
     
Simple and fantastic, worked even with my two SQL Server 2012 express instances (server to server). Great. Thanks for the hard work.
by greenflash on Nov 25, 2012 at 3:40 PM
     
Very nice. It is great to have an open source schema diff for MSSQL.
by k7 on Nov 6, 2012 at 2:55 PM
     
Excellent and simple tool. It often helps me in regular work.
by Irdis on Oct 22, 2012 at 7:47 PM
     
Great for informational use only to see what is different b/w source and destination. Be VERY careful when running the syncronization script, best to sync by hand with this tool... it destroyed my database.
by ebarcza on Sep 12, 2012 at 8:32 PM
     
Great job! Simple yet powerful tool.
by ddurose on Jul 24, 2012 at 2:37 PM
     
Worked great and got the job done!
by aarondh on May 21, 2012 at 5:23 PM
     
Clean, simple, and easy to use.
by dseisun on May 15, 2012 at 11:53 PM
     
Very useful and simple to use! Great job
by JohannBlais on Apr 27, 2012 at 8:48 AM
     
Simple, fast and useful; thanks!
by webnodes on Apr 26, 2012 at 9:02 PM
     
excellent, exactly what I needed. (one enhancement could be with stored proc's in the "sync script" to either add the drop statment before or change the create to alter for existing stored procs)
by stratcr on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:50 PM
     
Great product. Works as advertised. Thank you for making this contribution to the community. Based on the # of downloads, it's very clear you are helping us be more productive.
by kyle_ballard on Dec 10, 2011 at 11:23 PM
     
This is a great tool to compare to database easily to you can stay in sync with your objects such as store procs and table schemas. I like how it creates the sync tsql scripts.
by motogeek on Dec 5, 2011 at 3:11 PM
     
Simple to use and it works!
by kongstad on Nov 18, 2011 at 12:24 PM
     
Simple, Speedy, Well Engineered.... great product !!!
by lightcode on Jul 12, 2011 at 10:00 PM
     
Super! Easy to use!
by henrikweimenhog on Jul 6, 2011 at 8:57 AM
     
Nice tool! Very well written! Do you plan to implement other databases such as MySQL?
by Kataklism4 on Mar 1, 2011 at 10:44 PM
     
Worked perfect for me in sql server 2010. A great free sql server tool.
by voch on Jan 16, 2011 at 8:10 PM